Ffynnon Llugwy reservoir, carved out millions of year ago by glacial activity.

What came next I had not remotely anticipated or prepared myself for. In order to reach the highest peak on our walk, that of Carnedd Llewellyn, we first had to navigate along a narrow ridge with a steep drop on either side and though I would not describe it as knife-edge, I would be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous. Apart from being quite steep, the ridge, known as Bwlch Eryl Farchog, was still shrouded in fairly dense mist. Due to the dramatic nature of the landscape and my innate need to capture it all on camera, I was inevitably trailing behind the others. On the descent down to a sort of saddle, Ffynnon Llugwy Reservoir suddenly came into view to the south. As the vast expanse of Cwm Llugwy, carved out millions of years ago by glacial activity, opened up before us, I stood there in total awe, speechless with wonder. What a breathtaking place, God’s own country, as Dave later described it.  Read more.

The descent of Pen yr Ole Wen begins. Llyn Idwal (Lake Idwal) lies nestled in Cwm Idwal. To the right, Y Garn at 947 metres.
